Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Client/Contractor obligations

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Client/Contractor obligations on Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:26 pm

Arresto Menor
Hello Lawyers,

I hope you could help me sort out this predicament.

I was an independent contractor for a digital marketing agency in Alabang. We have a digital contract signed through Hellosign.

Our agreement was to have a pay-per-production scheme, which would be sent out every month on the 15th and 30th.

I manage my invoice sheet, and my client has access to it. The last changes on my invoice sheet had the following changes to the terms:

All content that is submitted AND approved by 5pm/mst on the 10th will be paid on the 15th
All content that is submitted AND approved by 5pm/mst on the 25th will be paid on the last day of month
5% discount on every Php 10k within a pay period
Maximum of 3 revisions

We had talks about a discount, on 9/21, but we have not agreed on a discount. The discount was retrospectively applied to my invoice sheet, which led to a significant deduction on my pay. I felt that this was an unfair business practice, which led me to inform my client that I would no longer be producing content for his company.

Prior to this arrangement, I had referred several people to the business, with my own personal guarantee that the business was good. After experiencing the unfair treatment I had with my client, I warned my referrals to watch out for signs of non-pay, which is what happened to me.