Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

SEPARATION PAY

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 SEPARATION PAY on Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:40 am

NiceOneJune

Arresto Menor
Good morning!

I work in the food service industry but our restaurant will be closed this January. We the employees are promised that we are going to receive our separation pay, service charge, backpay, etc. But my questions are...

- Separation pay is different from backpay right? Are we going to receive our separation pay before the store closes? Or is it the same with backpay like we will wait for months for us to receive it.

Feedbacks will be appreciated! Cheers! ☺️

View user profile

2 Re: SEPARATION PAY on Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:48 am

Patok

Reclusion Perpetua
Separation pay is different from back pay.  Back pay is your last payslip which includes all days worked, vl/sl conversion, pro rated 13th month pay, tax refund if any.  Separation pay is payment for the years of service you rendered to the company, ask your HR how much is the separation pay, if it's 1 month or half month salary X years of service.

As to when it will be given, it depends on the company, they could just give it all at once, separation pay + back pay.

View user profile

3 Re: SEPARATION PAY on Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:30 pm

NiceOneJune

Arresto Menor
So I just heard from our accountant and payroll officer that our separation pay will be given after 2-3 months. Is that even possible? I mean it's separation pay! Not backpay. It's unfair for us to wait that long ffs.

View user profile

4 Re: SEPARATION PAY on Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:03 pm

attyLLL